Krav Maga Newcastle

Krav Maga Belts

Let’s take a look at the Krav Maga Belt system – what each Belt Level means and relates to at Krav Maga Newcastle.


LEVEL 1 – yellow belt

A minimum four months of training, which typically equates to forty completed classes, is required in order to be eligible to take the KM1 belt test. If you train an average of two times a week, it takes approximately 4 – 6 months to receive a KM Level 1 belt (KM1).

Throughout this training period, emphasis is put on the development of fundamental techniques: students will learn proper Krav Maga fighting stances and movements, different kinds of punches, kicks from both standing and ground positions, elbowsknees, and how to protect oneself against punches, chokes, headlocks and wrist grabs.


LEVEL 2 – orange belt

If youve successfully completed your (KM1) belt, you can expect to train for an additional six months and attend a minimum 60 classes before you are eligible to test for your KM Level 2 (KM2) belt.

Prospective KM2 belt-holders are expected to perform at an intermediate level, which means that they will continue to hone and review techniques practiced in KM1, while also learning additional puncheskicks, punch defencescounterattacks, kick defences, and defences against advanced chokes, headlocks, and bearhugs. Escapes from the ground are also introduced at this level.


LEVEL 3 – green belt

The next intermediate-level belt in the system is the KM Level 3 (KM3) belt. Students who practice two to three times a week can expect to be test-ready in nine months.

Training primarily focuses on strikes, protection against strikes, and self defence. A big emphasis on Ground defences is also covered at this level. It is also during this round of training where you will begin to learn sophisticated techniques that involve defending against weapons such as knives, guns, and sticks.


Krav Maga Ranking


LEVEL 4 – blue belt

KM Level 4 belt test. Preparing for the KM4 belt test is a twelve month endeavor, one that is more rigorous and demanding than any of those which have been completed up to this point.

Students in pursuit of a KM4 belt are required to learn additional defences against punches and kicks, perfected defences against knives, guns, and sticks, as well as strategic takedowns and ground fighting techniques. Sparring in Kickboxing, Clinch and the Ground range.


LEVEL 5 – Brown belt

The brown KM Level 5 (KM5) belt is the second highest belt in the Krav Maga belt system, only the most dedicated students will reach this level. Brown belt level 5 includes fighting, ground fighting, self defence, all weapons defences (including long gun / machine gun) and third party protection.



The principle distinction between a Black belt and a Brown belt is not the quantity of techniques known by the wearer, but the expertise in which they are applied.

At Black belt the student will be able to demonstrate a full understanding of the level 1-5 curriculum, be competent in all ranges of combat including Striking, Clinching, Takedowns, Ground Fighting and Weaponry. The students knowledge of Krav Maga foundational principles are assessed more thoroughly in blackbelt training than they are in the traditional curriculum.



Jeff Hollows Krav Maga Newcastle

Jeff Hollows is the Founder and Head Instructor at Krav Maga Newcastle.

Krav Maga Newcastle provides Weekly Classes, Seminars and 1-1 Personal Training in Krav Maga and Martial Arts.

Contact Us

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *